About Us

Herbicide resistance is a rising economic problem in American agriculture. Increasingly, growers, crop consultants, and other ag professionals are looking toward Integrated Weed Management to eradicate resistant weeds on their farms. IWM allows growers to use multiple tactics together in order to attack weeds from multiple angles.

The Integrated Weed Management (IWM) Resource Center is a place to find helpful, trustworthy resources on using integrated weed management for herbicide resistant weeds. This website is updated regularly by a team of weed scientists from 14 universities and the USDA Agricultural Research Service as part of an area-wide project.

On this website:

The weed management specialists involved in this project are:

Mid-Atlantic:

Steven Mirsky – Sustainable Agricultural Systems Lab, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, MD. Steven.mirsky@ars.usda.gov

Mark VanGessel – Professor and Extension Specialist, Dept. of Plant and Soil Sciences, University of Delaware. mjv@udel.edu

Bill Curran – Professor of Weed Science, Penn State University. wcurran@psu.edu

Wesley Everman – Assistant Professor in Crop Science, North Carolina State University. Wesley_everman@ncsu.edu

Michael Flessner – Assistant Professor and Extension Weed Science Specialist, Virginia Tech. flessner@vt.edu

Burkhard Schulz – Assistant Professor in Plant Science, University of Maryland. Bschulz1@umd.edu

North Central:

Adam Davis – Ecologist, USDA-ARS, Urbana-Champaign, Illinois. Adavis1@illinois.edu

Aaron Hager – Associate Professor, Dept. of Crop Sciences, University of Illinois. hager@illinois.edu

John Lindquist – Professor, Dept of Agronomy and Horticulture, University of Nebraska. Jlindquist1@unl.edu

Nick Jordan – Professor, Dept of Agronomy and Plant Genetics, University of Minnesota. Jorda020@umn.edu

South Central:

Jason Norsworthy – Professor of weed science, Dept of Crop, Soil and Environmental Science, University of Arkansas. jnorswor@uark.edu

Muthu Bagavathiannan – Texas A&M University. Muthu.bagavathiannan@tamu.edu

Kevin Bradley – Assistant Professor, Weed Science, Division of Plant Sciences, University of Missouri. BradleyKe@missouri.edu

Larry Steckel – Associate Professor, Row Crop Weed Specialist, Dept of Plant Sciences, University of Tennessee. lsteckel@utk.edu

Jason Bond – Research/Extension Professor, Weed Science, Dept. of Plant and Soil Sciences, Mississippi State University. Jason.bond@msstate.edu

Lauren Lazaro – Assistant Professor, Production Agronomy and Weed Science, Louisiana State University. LLazaro@agcenter.lsu.edu

Agricultural Economists:

George Frisvold – Professor and Extension Specialist, Dept. of Agricultural and Resource Economics, University of Arizona. frisvold@ag.arizona.edu

David Ervin – Professor Emeritus or Environmental Management and Economics, Portland State University. ervin@pdx.edu

Outreach and Website Development:

Annie Klodd – Extension Associate in Integrated Weed Management, Dept of Plant Sciences, Pennsylvania State University. Outreach coordinator and website manager. Aek229@psu.edu

Michael Greifenkamp – Web Project and Database Specialist, Dept. of Crop Sciences, University of Illinois

 

For questions and comments regarding this website, contact Annie Klodd, Penn State University Extension Associate at aek229@psu.edu.